What Does Other Snapchatters Mean On Snapchat?

0 comments

Snapchat is a social media application used by more than 400 million users globally. It is prevalent among teenagers because of features like self-destructive text messages, streaks, photo filters, etc. 

It also has a feature that allows you to post a story on your profile like WhatsApp and Instagram that will vanish after 24 hours. Users can see the people who have looked at their stories. If you upload stories, then you may have encountered “Other Snapchatters” in the people who viewed your story. 

Most people do not understand what does other snapchatters mean and why it occurs. If you are also confused then do not worry. 

In this article, we will explain the real meaning of other snapchatters, the reason behind it, and how you can remove other snapchatters from viewing your Snapchat stories. 

What does other snapchatters mean? 

The word other snapchatter mostly occurs if you share your stories publicly. Which means that anyone can view your story without following you. 

What does other Snapchatters mean

Other snapchatter on Snapchat simply means that the user has viewed your story but has not followed you. 

However, you might sometimes encounter a person or a friend you know being placed under snapchatters section. It happens because of 3 reasons. If you want to know why people are placed under other snapchatters section, then read on. 

Reasons why people are placed under other snapchatters

These are the following reasons why a person does not occur in the normal viewers' list but under the heading “other snapchatters” in your story viewers. 

1. The viewer has blocked you. 

Sometimes, you might see a user under other snapchatters because they have blocked you after viewing your story. 

If they have done so, after this story, they will not be able to see your next stories unless they unblock you. 

If you block a friend and they have viewed your story then also they will be placed under other snapchatters titles in the story viewers list. 

2. You have not added the person as a friend. 

If you have a public Snapchat profile, then your stories will be shown to people who are not added as a friend with you. 

So if you see someone under the other snapchatter section, it may mean that they have added you but you have not added them and they have viewed your story because you set it as public. 

If you want, you can change the settings of your Snapchat stories and set them to friends only. This way, only people who you have added back will be shown your Snapchat stories. 

3.  A friend has unfriended you. 

See a friend under the “other snapchatters” section and you are sure they have not blocked you. 

Well, the reason they do not appear under normal viewers is because they have unfriended you from Snapchat. But they have viewed your story before unfriending you from Snapchat.

Add friends on Snapchat

If you do not have a public profile, they won't be able to watch your stories anymore. They also won't be able to get any snaps from you unless they add you back as a friend. 

How to know if a friend has blocked you or unfriended you?

A viewer can appear under other snapchatters because of any of the 3 reasons mentioned above. 

However, just by looking, you can not know why they appear under other snapchatter section. 

Here is how you can check whether they have blocked you or removed you as a friend. 

Check if you have been blocked

Follow these steps to check if you have been blocked by a user: 

Step 1. Open Snapchat and click on the lens icon to search for the user. 

Step 2. Type in the username of the person you want to check if they have blocked you.

Step 3. If you can not find anyone with that username, they have blocked you and that is why they appear under other snapchatter heading. 

Here is an alternate way of checking if a snapchat friend has clocked you. 

Step 1. Open your chat page on Snapchat. 

Step 2. Scroll till the end to find out their chat history with you.

Step 3. Try sending them a message. If it says failed to transmit the message, it means that you have been blocked by the user.

From now on, they won't be able to see any of your stories before unblocking you. 

Check if you have been removed as a friend

If a user deletes you from their friend list on Snapchat, you won't be notified. Here is how you can check if you are not friends with a Snapchat user anymore. 

  1. Go to the chat box and find a friend. 
  2. Send them a message or a snap. 
  3. If the message says pending and a grey tick appears in front of their name, it means that they have removed you as a friend. 

If you are not sure whether this method works, then try the other method to find out if you have been removed as a friend. 

  1. Open Snapchat and search for the username of your friend.
  2. Click on their profile and click on their avatar. 
  3. If you can see their snap score, you are their friend. If the snap score is not visible, you have been removed and that is why they are appearing under other snapchatters title.   

How to prevent other snapchatters from viewing your story?

Now that you know what does other snapchatters mean, you would want them to not be able to see your story. 

View my story

If yes, then in this section, you will find a guide that will help you prevent other snapchatter (people who do not follow you) from being able to view your story. 

You need to set your story settings to private or friends only. This way, only your friends can view your story. 

Follow these steps to change story settings from public to friends only. 

  1. Open Snapchat.
  2. Click on your profile icon in the top left corner of your screen. 
  3. Now click on the settings icons under your profile option. 
  4. Find View My Story under the Who Can section and click on it. 
  5. Switch it to friends only from the public. 

After you have done this, no one can view your snapchat stories unless you have added them back. This will increase your privacy and people who do not know you will know about your life. 

What is +1 more on Snapchat?

Have you ever seen +1 More when you wanted to check who viewed your story apart from other snapchat? Do you also wonder what +1 more means on snapchat? 

Other Snapchatters

Whereas other snap chatter means that the person has viewed your story but is not following you anymore, +1 more means that they have either blocked you or do not have any mutual friends with you. They are completely anonymous. 

Other snapchatter shows usernames whereas +1 more does not. However, you can prevent them from seeing your stories by changing them to friends only by following the method mentioned above. 

Conclusion 

Snapchat has tons of features that are very helpful to users. However, some of these features are confusing sometimes. Just like other snapchatters. 

Other snapchatter means that the person has viewed your story and has either blocked you, has removed you as a friend or you have not added them as a friend. 

We hope that you were able to understand what other snapchatter means on snapchat. Along with that, we also shared how you can set your stories to friends only. 

FAQs

How do I see other snapchatters who viewed my story? 

You can view Other Snapchatters from the viewer section of your story. Just tap on your story, and click on insights. Here you will find the list of people who have viewed your story. In the end, you will find a section, other snapchatters. 

Does other snapchatter mean you are blocked? 

If a user has blocked you then yes, they will appear in the other snapchatter section. However, people who do not follow you but have not blocked you will also fall under this section. 

Why does it say other snapchatters even though they are friends? 

You may see someone in this section because they have added you but you have not added them back. After you add them back, they will be shown in the normal section of story viewers. 

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}